CA winemakers adopt sustainable winegrowing

(KTSF by Jessie Liang)

California has more wineries than any other state in the nation, and nearly 90 percent of wine produced in the U.S. are from California. Since the California Sustainable Winegrowing Alliance (CSWA) was established in 2003, it has promoted sustainable winegrowing among vintners and growers by using the three E’s of sustainability: Environmentally sound, Economically feasible and Equitable practice.

KTSF

The Clos LaChance winery and its 100 acres of vineyard was certified by the CSWA two years ago. Clos LaChance vice president Cheryl Murphy Durzy says sanitation is very important at a winery so they  use a lot of water. They built several ponds at the vineyard to store wastewater and then recycle it. Durzy says, “All of water that we use in the winery, it’s then put through ponds, the solids settle out and then we use the water toward the vineyard.”

Durzy adds the ponds and the wetlands create beautiful environment for birds and endangered species. In addition, Clos LaChance vineyard also uses cover crops. “We use legumes as our cover crop which tracks the right kind of insects that will naturally protect the grapes and the environment around them,” said Durzy.

Every year when all the grapes are crushed, Durzy says they take the grape skins, compost them, and then put them back into the soil as a fertilizer. She says doing all of these little things adds up to creating a better environment not only for the winery, but the community in large and creating better wine. Durzy adds that their next goal is to install a solar system.

Even though the winery has been certified by the CSWA, Durzy states that according to the certification program, the winery needs to be re -evaluated every year, so they have to improve each year. She says that sustainability is a long-term investment not only for the  people  now but also for the next generation. “If the land is protected for next generation, they don’t have to put in money to fix it,” said Durzy.

According to the CSWA’s data, nearly 60 California wineries which use sustainable winegrowing and winemaking methods have been certified by the CSWA. To date, more than 1,680 vintners and growers have self-assessed their operations at more than 200 workshops. The CSWA’s goal is to encourage the wine community to continue evolving their sustainable practices over time.

(Copyright 2012 KTSF. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

Share This

Leave a Reply

Connect with Facebook

*

加州釀酒商用永續方法種植葡萄及釀酒

【KTSF 梁秋玉報導】

加州的葡萄酒製造,幾乎佔全美葡萄酒製造的九成。2003年,加州永續葡萄種植聯盟CSWA成立後,開始大力推動永續葡萄種植計劃,旨在減少環境污染及資源浪費,對經濟和社會也有好處。

這裡是大約100英畝的Clos LaChance葡萄園,於兩年前獲得加州永續葡萄種植聯盟CSWA認證。

KTSF

釀酒廠負責人Cheryl Durzy表示,葡萄園非常重視衛生,因此要用大量水,酒莊為節約用水,築建了多個池塘,將用過的污水處理後循環再用。Durzy說,”所有在酒莊用的水,我們會儲存在池塘,讓固體沉澱,然後再用來澆葡萄園。”

Durzy說,池塘還可為鳥類和其他動物提供棲息地。此外,葡萄園還使用大量覆蓋作物。”我們用豆科植物作覆蓋物吸引有益的昆蟲,保護葡萄和環境。”

Durzy說,每年他們釀酒要碾碎葡萄時,還會將所有葡萄皮用來堆肥,用作土壤的天然肥料。她說,採用這些永續方法,對酒的品質、環境和社區都有好處。而下一個目標,就是安裝太陽能系統。

雖然釀酒廠已獲永續認證,但Durzy說,根據認證規則,每年都會進行再評分,所以釀酒廠仍要不斷改善,而永續本身也是一種長期投資。”如果土地為下一代受到保護,他們就不需要花更多錢去修護它。”

加州永續葡萄種植聯盟的資料顯示,目前已有近60家釀酒廠通過聯盟的永續計劃認證,有超過1,680個葡萄種植和釀酒商,參加了聯盟主辦的永續計劃講座,旨在鼓勵更多業內人士加入環保行列。

(Copyright 2012 KTSF. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.) 版權所有,不得轉載

分享:

發表你的看法

Connect with Facebook

*