Smart phones help campaigns find votes

(KTSF by Ricky Chan)

Traditional campaigning used to have volunteers use maps and information of registered voters. Now new technologies provide new platforms for campaigns. Internet and social media have become popular, and most candidates have their campaign websites..

Candice Dayoan, new media director for David Chiu’s campaign, said, “These technologies are not replacing the old styles. It’s still really important to have the face to face conversation. Still really important to talk over the phone, but we also use Twitter, Facebook, Google+ to have conversations with people where they are.”

Leon Chow, director of external affairs of SEIU United Healthcare Workers West, states that traditional style campaigning has been there since the 1970′s. With the help of smart phones nowadays, distribution of manpower becomes much easier.

Volunteers for the campaign would get a smart phone, integrated with an app (smart phone application) developed by a company in the bay area. The app tells everyone where to go. Once reaching the voter’s door, volunteers would be given instructions on the screen, and all they need to do is ask the voter’s questions.

The advantages of using smart phones includes saving a lot of paper, plus with the GPS(Global Positioning System), the control center can distribute manpower effectively.

Leon Chow says that the developer of the app is filing the patent at this moment, and he predicts that the app will become popular next year in different elections.

(Copyright 2011 KTSF. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

Share This

Leave a Reply

Connect with Facebook

*

智能手機助拉票活動

 

【KTSF陳瀚文報導】

傳統的助選團拉票,都是拿著地圖以及選民資料,逐家逐戶拍門拉票。日新月異的科技發展,為拉票活動提供新平台。互聯網普及之後,很多候選人都會有自己的競選網站。再加上很多民眾,都有使用社交網站,令不少助選團都會利用這些新平台來拉票。

邱信福助選團新媒體總監Candice Dayoan說:「這些科技不會取代舊的方法,面對面的對話仍然重要,通電話也重要,但我們同樣會用Twitter, Facebook及Google+跟民眾溝通。」

以往助選團都是拿著地圖以及一疊疊的選民資料,逐家逐戶去拍門拉票,助選團跟總部並沒有即時互動。

西岸醫護工會外務主任周禮樵表示,早已於70年代已開始沿用那些舊方法去拉票。現在有了智能手機的協助,調動人手變得更加方便。

出發拉票前,助選團每人會獲發一台智能手機,內置了由灣區的軟件開發商所製作的App,登入手機後便會看到不同選民的資料及地址。助選人員根據地址拍門後,便可以照手機上的指示,向已登記的選民問問題以及拉票,完成後控制中心便會馬上收到通知。

周禮樵指利用智能手機的好處包括非常環保,不需要再損耗大量紙張,而配合全球定位系統,控制中心可以更有效率分佈助選人員。

周禮樵說:「因為衛星的話,其實整個三藩市任何一個重要選區都會分佈。我們於哪一個地方需要加重人力物力,都可以即時調動,這非常有效。」

周禮樵表示軟件開發商,現時正為這個App申請專利,預計明年起會廣泛在其他選舉中使用。

(Copyright 2011 KTSF. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)
版權所有,不得轉載。

分享:

發表你的看法

Connect with Facebook

*