SF launches Invest in Neighborhoods

Sina WeiboPrintShare

(KTSF)

(KTSF by Sean Au)

San Francisco Mayor Ed Lee launches the “Invest in Neighborhoods” initiative to bring together city and private resources to vitalize neighborhood commercial corridors by assisting small business to expand and hire more people.

In the Portola district, a small patch of open land is near the busy San Bruno Avenue is slated to undergo some landscaping work to make it into a parklet with seating. The City is also helping a successful coffee shop in Noe Valley to open a second shop in the empty store next to the space.

Resident and business owners nearby welcome the news. One resident says, “There is not a good park or anything here for the kids to play, so it would be a good idea for them to do that.”

“This is a good plan. Another space beautified will bring more activity to the area,” says a shop owner across the street.

City statistics show that since 2005, in spite of the recession, San Bruno Avenue’s vacancy rate has decreased from 7% to 4.8%. The annual sales tax brought in by the area has also increased by 8%, compared to 3% citywide.

Mayor Ed Lee is quick to point out that while the City is courting high tech companies to operate in San Francisco, his office has not forgotten about the small businesses.

“Maybe they are reading the papers everyday and they see that we are paying a lot of attention to downtown and South of Market interest, we are not abandonning (other areas) at all,” explains Lee. “We ae just going to be as investment friendly to our merchant corridors throughout all of the City.”

The $5 million revolving loan established by Mayor Lee has dispersed $800,00 to 27 proprietors for them to expand or revamp their businesses. The Mayor’s Offices says 75 jobs have been created and no one has defaulted on their loan so far.

(Copyright 2012 KTSF. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

Leave a Reply

Connect with Facebook

*

舊金山推出投資鄰里計畫

Sina WeiboPrintShare

(KTSF)

【KTSF 歐志洲報導】

舊金山 (三藩市)市長李孟賢今天宣布,結合市府和私營資源,推出鄰里投資計畫(Invest In Neighborhoods),協助小型企業發展,製造就業機會。

舊金山Portola區,San Bruno Avenue旁邊街尾的一片小空地,被列入美化景觀項目。市府更協助一間咖啡店,在旁邊空置的店面開分店。這裡的居民和商戶表示歡迎。

居民:”這裡沒有一個好的公園給小朋友們玩,所以這是個好主意。”

商戶:”這計畫很好。多一個地方就多一些活動,美化這條街。”

數據也顯示,San Bruno Ave這條商業走廊,雖然經歷經濟不景氣,店面空置率卻從2005年的7%,降到今年的4.8%。而這裡商家收取的銷售稅,也在同時間內增加8%,比全市3%的平均增長來得高。

市長李孟賢表示,希望民眾了解,市府在鼓勵高科技大公司在市中心設立總部的同時,並沒有忽略小生意。

舊金山市長李孟賢:”市民或許每天看新聞,了解到我們關注市中心和市場街以南地區的發展。但我們也沒有忘了其他社區,對舊金山所有的商用街道,我們也給這裡的商戶同樣的資助。”

而市長提出的5百萬元旋轉式貸款計畫(revolving loan),第一階段已經發出80萬貸款給27個小商業。在一年內製造了75份工作,而且貸款人中沒有人拖欠付款。

(Copyright 2012 KTSF. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)
版權所有,不得轉載。

Speak Your Mind

Connect with Facebook

*