SF’s greenest office building: part 2

Sina WeiboPrintShare

(KTSF by Jessie Liang)

San Francisco, CA – The new headquarters of the San Francisco Public Utilities Commission (SFPUC) is one of the greenest building in North America. In addition to high efficient water conservation, the building also has high energy efficient and unique seismic safety features. All of these features will result in real taxpayer savings.

On the north facade of the building, the “Firefly” wall, made by tens of thousands of five-inch-square, clear-polycarbonate hinged panels can move in the wind freely like undulating waves. In the night, each tiny panel inward has a small embedded magnet connected to an electrical reed switch that triggers the flickering of tiny LED lights.

KTSF

The SFPUC spokesman Tyrone Jue says, “If you lit up all these LED lights all together, it would take up the equivalent of a 75 watt light bulb. So it’s very energy efficient.”

The building is using renewable energy that is generated by four wind turbines and 691 solar panels. Two combines can provide 7% of the building’s energy needs. Artificial lighting can adjust automatically upon daylight to save energy. A state-of-the-art raised flooring system is easy for employees to control indoor air condition to reduce heating, cooling and ventilation energy costs by 51%. All of these features help to use 32% less energy than similar-sized buildings.

The SFPUC new headquarters is also one of the safest buildings in San Francisco because it’s taken the suspension bridge technology and applied it into the new building.

The San Francisco Department of Public Works senior project manager Brook Mebrahtu says, ” So in an event of …. a maximum incredible earthquake, the building will shake but it’s always centered itself.” Mebrahtu says the post tension systems can minimize the damage of the building and be available for occupants immediately after an earthquake.

Jue adds, “The combination of owning the building, the energy efficiency, the water conservation, all of that up will save our ratepayers 500 million dollars over a 100 year lifespan of this building.”

Mayor Ed Lee also says, “This building represents so much of the good things that we’ve always wanted.”

The SFPUC offers free public tours of the new office building. Since all July tours are full , people who are interested can check their website at sfwater.org/HQ for future public tour schedules .

(Copyright 2012 KTSF. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

Speak Your Mind

Connect with Facebook

*

舊金山新環保大樓可為納稅人省錢

【KTSF 梁秋玉報導】

按照綠色建築LEED最高白金標準設計的舊金山水利局新大樓,除了展現出與自然相結合的設計,高端節水節能的減碳科技,還採用了舊科技新應用的防震技術,使這座市府擁有的綠色建築,在未來一百年,可為納稅人節省五億美元開支。

舊金山水利局新大樓正面最引人注目的,就是這塊長行的”Firefly”螢火蟲面板,它由上萬塊五英吋大小,方形透明的聚碳酸酯膠片組成,每塊膠片都有導電線圈和微小的LED燈,整塊面板不僅配合安裝的四個風力渦輪發電機,還可隨風搖擺,白天像起伏的波浪,夜晚如同飛舞的螢火蟲。

KTSF

舊金山水利局發言人陳秉賢說,”點亮所有液晶燈泡,等於一個75瓦燈泡,所以很節能。”

除了風力發電,大樓還安裝了691個太陽能電板,兩個系統每年可為大樓提供7%的用電量。室內照明則充分利用自然光,電燈亮度會隨陽光變化而自動調整,節省電能。先進的高架地板,可讓員工自己調節通風設備,有助減少51%的空調用電量,與同等規模的普通大樓相比,總共可節省約三分之一的電能。

防震系統則採用吊橋技術,加上特殊的混凝土結構,使之成為舊金山最安全的大樓之一。舊金山工務局資深項目經理Brook Mebrahtu說,”作為混凝土建築,它有一個後張震動及垂直後張力,因此在大地震時,我們稱為最強地震,該建築會一直保持在中心位置。”

由於大樓可吸收震動能量,將地震損害減至最低,因此震後可立即使用。

陳秉賢說,”擁有這座大樓,集合了節能節水,加起來可省五億元納稅人的錢,在這建築的一百年壽命裡。”

市長李孟賢說,”這座建築代表了那麼多我們一直想要做的東西,是我們公共建築及所有建設工程的祭壇。”

水利局新大樓歡迎公眾免費參觀,由於七月參觀名額已滿,八月或之後的參觀活動,可上網查詢﹐網址是sfwater.org/HQ。

舊金山有接近400棟建築歸市政府所有,從2002年開始,每年花費約500至600萬元進行節能改造工程,至今已有約130棟大型建築完工。由於市府同時要進行Hetch Hetchy水力發電的輸電設施維修及更新工程,因此未來四年,節能項目預算將逐漸削減,到2016年只有65萬元。

(Copyright 2012 KTSF. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.) 版權所有,不得轉載

分享:

發表你的看法

Connect with Facebook

*