Screening Room: Life of Pi

Sina WeiboPrintShare

(KTSF by Sean Au)

16 year old Pi (Suraj Sharma)  embarks  on a journey with his family and crates of animal from the family zoo on a ship bound for Canada.  After being met by a storm at sea, Pi  is  the only person who  survives  the sinking   ship. He  finds  himself in the life boat with a few animals. The food chain  sets  in motion and the boat  is  finally left with Pi and a Bengal tiger named Peter Parker. The boy  has  to learn how to survive at sea and avoid becoming cat food before they  being escued after 227 days adrift.

This is the premise of the Director Ang Lee’s latest movie, “Life of Pi” adapted from Yann Martel’s Man Booker prize winner. Also Lee’s first foray into 3D filmmaking, the high cost of making a film where almost the entire movie takes place in the ocean, led Lee to bring the production to Taiwan. The successful use of 3D to advance the story and to immerse the audience in the movie makes this the best accomplished 3D film after James Cameron’s “Avatar” three years ago.

“Learning the technology is relatively simple,” says Lee. “What is difficult is how you use this new medium as a way to express yourself in your artistic creation. You hope that the audience will accept what you do. How you use this technology and medium to express your thoughts, that is the most challenging of it all.”

Every single frame of the film has been meticulously crafted with beauty, allowing the audience to be lured into the story. For a story that is steeped in faith, Lee’s film succeeds in bringing the abstract to life.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Video courtesy of Twentieth Century Fox.

Share This

Leave a Reply

Connect with Facebook

*

該不該看3D版《少年Pi 的奇幻漂流》

Sina WeiboPrintShare

【KTSF 歐志洲報導】

李安說男孩和老虎在海上漂流的故事。《電影試片室》看《少年Pi 的奇幻漂流》。

在印度長大的Pi,隨著家人乘船移民加拿大。途中遇上暴風雨而沉船,Pi及時爬上救生艇。而和他一塊逃上救生艇的是幾頭動物。直到救生艇上,只剩下Pi 和一隻老虎在海上漂流227天。16歲的Pi 必須學習如何在海上生存的同時,也必須和老虎共存,直到被救為止。

故事是改編自加拿大作家Yann Martel ,獲得權威布克獎的作品。故事的主要情節都是在海上發生。李安在資金局限的情況下,也將拍攝工作搬到台灣。《Life of Pi》也是李安初次採用3D立體技術拍攝,是自三年前James Cameron的《阿凡達》以來,最成功運用3D 技術的影片。

導演李安:”你怎樣用它來做為一個媒體來做你的藝術創造,當你這創造能夠被觀眾接受,這心理上的挑戰。和你怎樣用這個方法來講故事,傳達你的訊息,我覺得這是一個很大的挑戰。”

電影從開始的每個鏡頭都有美感, 讓觀眾沉浸於劇情中。並成功通過電影,加強小說中對信仰的深奧主題。

《Life of Pi》在推高好萊塢電影水準方面,取得顯著成就,獲得滿分5分的最佳評價。

電影畫面由Twentieth Century Fox 提供。

(Copyright 2012 KTSF. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.) 版權所有,不得轉載。

發表你的看法

Connect with Facebook

*