Man who hurled hammer at picketing bart workers pleads not guilty

Sina WeiboPrintShare

DALY CITY (BCN)

A San Francisco man who allegedly threw a hammer at striking BART workers in Daly City on Monday morning has pleaded not guilty to two felony charges in San Mateo County Superior Court, prosecutors said.

Vincent Matteucci, 39, is accused of hurling the hammer at workers as they picketed during the fourth day of their strike. Trains began running again Tuesday morning after a tentative agreement was reached.

According to San Mateo County District Attorney Steve Wagstaffe, Matteucci and an unidentified man were in a parking lot near the Daly City BART station when BART workers reported hearing one of the men yell, “Get your asses back to work!”

Matteucci, who was identified by three witnesses, then allegedly threw the hammer, which landed about 15 feet away from the picketers, Wagstaffe said.

The striking workers called 911, and when police arrived they found a “wood-handled metal straight pick” sticking out of Matteucci’s pocket, according to the district attorney’s office.

Matteucci, who remains in custody on $25,000 bail, will return to court Nov. 4 for a preliminary hearing. He is being charged with felony assault with a deadly weapon and carrying a concealed dirk or dagger, and a misdemeanor charge of brandishing a deadly weapon, prosecutors said. He has asked for a court-appointed attorney.

(Copyright 2013 Bay City News. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

Leave a Reply

Connect with Facebook

*

男子不滿捷運罷工 向工會成員擲錘子被捕

Sina WeiboPrintShare

【KTSF】

Daly City市週一早上,一名39歲舊金山男子Vincent Matteucci,涉嫌向一名罷工中的BART捷運員工投擲錘子,在聖馬刁縣高等法院被控兩項重罪,嫌犯不認罪。

控方指,嫌犯Matteucci與另一名男子當時在Daly City市捷運車站停車場,幾名捷運員工聽見其中一人大叫”你給我回去工作!” (“Get your asses back to work!”)

然後有三名員工目擊到Matteucci,往他們擲出一個錘子,錘子跌落在他們約15英尺外。

員工於是打911報警,警員到場後在Matteucci的口袋裡發現一個疑似錘子的物件。

Matteucci現被扣留,保釋金為25,000元,將於11月4日回到庭上作初步聆訊,他被控持械傷人等重罪,正要求召見律師。

 

更多新聞:

捷運勞資將為合約作最終修訂最早下週有審批結果

BART撞死兩名維修工事故中操作列車的是練習生

(Copyright 2013 KTSF. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. Bay City News contributed to this report. )
版權所有,不得轉載。

Speak Your Mind

Connect with Facebook

*