Three bin recycling

(KTSF by Jessie Liang)

During the holiday season, there’s more waste  generated  than usual. But if you don’t discard materials correctly in your three trash bins, the waste company might not collect them for you.


For example, in San Francisco and some cities in San Mateo County, residents have three color-coded trash bins. The black bin is for landfill garbage, the blue is for recycling, and the green is for composting. If you throw your trash into the wrong color bin, the trash may not be collected.

In San Francisco, the three bin recycling program is mandatory. Residents who violate the law could end up paying a fine.

(Copyright 2011 KTSF.  All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

Share This

Leave a Reply

Connect with Facebook