Bay Area air quality improves

Sina WeiboPrintShare

(KTSF by Sean Au)

A report by the American Lung Association on the air quality in U.S. metropolitan areas and counties shows that the air quality in the Bay Area has been improving in recent years.

The San Francisco metropolitan area is no longer among the 25 most polluted metropolitan areas in the country. The report is compiled from the measurement of ozone and polluting particles in the air conducted by the U.S. Environment Protection Agency. Ozone is mostly emitted from exhaust pipes of vehicles while polluting particles are mostly from the burning of wood. State legislation played  a big role in reducing the pollutants in the air in the Bay Area. California is also targeting 1 million zero emission vehicles on the roads by 2025.
In all of last year, ozone measurement in San Francisco has not once hit the unhealthy level set by federal agencies. Bay Area counties also on this list are Marin, Sonoma and Santa Cruz. However, Santa Clara County’s high car usage has made the county’s air quality the worst in the area. Yet, the report finds that air quality has improved by between 15 and 30% since 2004 for all counties.
As for the country, 9 out of the 25 top polluted counties, are in California. Other than San Luis Obispo in central California, the other eight are in southern California, with Los Angeles on top of the list.

(Copyright 2012 KTSF. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

Leave a Reply

Connect with Facebook

*

舊金山大都市地區的空氣獲改善

Sina WeiboPrintShare

【KTSF 歐志洲報導】

美國保肺協會針對全國空氣素質,所做的報告發現,舊金山 (三藩市)大都會地區的空氣,近年來有所改善。但是灣區也有一些地區的空氣,有待改善。

美國保肺協會發表的一份報告顯示,舊金山大都會已不再是全國空氣汙染最嚴重的25個地區之一。這份報告是根據美國環境保護機構,測量空氣中的臭氧含量和汙染粒子而得出。臭氧一般來自汽車排氣管,而汙染粒子的主要來源,則是燃燒木頭。加州除了立法減低空氣汙染外,也設立了計畫,規定在2025年之前,在路上行走的車輛,必須有一百萬部是零排放的車輛。這些措施都是成功改善空氣質量的主要原因。

而在去年全年內,舊金山縣的空氣沒有一天超出聯邦規定的臭氧最高含量。灣區空氣同樣乾淨的縣,還包括北灣的Marin和Sonoma縣,和南灣的Santa Cruz縣。但是南灣的Santa Clara縣,因為眾多人開車,導致空氣屬灣區最差。灣區自2004年來,多數地區的空氣汙染程度,改善了15到30%。

但是全國臭氧汙染最嚴重的縣,加州就佔了9個。當中一個在中部的San Luis Obispo,其餘八個都在南加州,當中洛杉磯的空氣是最差的。

相關新聞:

NASA協助調查灣區空氣污染

(Copyright 2012 KTSF. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)
版權所有,不得轉載。

發表你的看法

Connect with Facebook

*