Ang Lee brings to life the “Life of Pi”

(KTSF by Sean Au)

 

Director Ang Lee’s latest Hollywood film “Life of Pi” opens in theatres today. With a price tag of $100 million, this is Ang Lee’s first venture into 3D filmmaking and marks a welcome return to his native Taiwan to make movies.

 

A 16 year old Indian boy by the name of Pi loses his family when the ship they were in sank in the Pacific Ocean. Pi was able to get into a lifeboat in time, along with a few more animals, but in the end, only Pi and a Bengal tiger named Richard Parker sail away alive. What follows is a story of survival of man and creature over 227 days drifting at sea.

 

Adapted from Canadian author Yann Martel’s Man Booker prize-winning book, it was deemed unfilmable as a majority of the story takes place at sea. A handful of renowned Hollywood directors have been attached to the project at one point or another, but gave up. One key reason is the huge cost that comes with filming on the ocean.

 

Ang Lee’s attraction to the story makes him look past the three nightmares in filmmaking: working with children, working with animals and working with the notoriously hard-to-control element of water. Lee persuaded the studio to approve the $100 million budget and headed to his native Taiwan to make the film.

 

“Making the film in Taiwan is a great opportunity,” says Lee. “Especially for young filmmakers, they get to see and experience how a Hollywood film is made.”

 

This is also the first time that Lee makes a film in 3D. He employs the help of the company behind James Cameron’s “Avatar.” Making “Pi” becomes a learning experience for Lee. How to use this new filmmaking knowledge to create an artistic work that will be appreciated by the movie goers becomes a huge challenge for Lee.

 

“Every film has a life of its own. You cannot force it,” says Lee. “You have to listen to it. It will be different from what you thought in the beginning. This is also what makes it interesting.”

 

Video courtesy of Twentieth Century Fox.

 

(Copyright 2012 KTSF. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

 

Share This
wx

Leave a Reply

Connect with Facebook

*

導演李安談拍《少年Pi的奇幻漂流》

Sina WeiboPrintShare

【KTSF 歐志洲報導】

導演李安的最新好萊塢電影《少年Pi 的奇幻漂流》開始在美國上映。耗資一億美元的電影,運用3D立體技術拍攝。李安將電影的拍攝工作搬到台灣,過程也讓李安有新的領悟。

一名16歲的印度少年Pi,在一起沉船事件中喪失家人。和他一塊逃上救生艇的是幾頭動物,直到救生艇只剩下Pi 和一隻老虎。《Life of Pi》、《少年Pi 的奇幻漂流》講述的就是男孩和老虎在海上漂流227天的故事。

故事是改編自加拿大作家Yann Martel 獲得權威布克獎的作品。故事的主要情節,都是在海上發生。好萊塢幾名傑出導演都曾嘗試改編成電影,最終半途放棄。其中一大原因,是這類電影需要龐大的資金拍攝。

導演李安被故事情節吸引,也不顧一般電影人避開拍攝孩童、動物和特別難控制的水,拍電影的三大禁忌;大膽面對挑戰,說服電影公司投入一億美元,並將電影搬到台灣的台中和墾丁拍攝。

導演:”我覺得在台灣做,是一個很好的契機。對台灣的電影也是很好,因為尤其是年輕的電影工作者有機會來看好萊塢的片,是怎麼樣的運作。”

《Life of Pi》也是李安初次採用3D立體技術拍攝。他找來三年前好萊塢導演James Cameron 拍攝《阿凡達》的電影公司。拍攝這部漂流電影,也成為李安學習3D技術的過程。李安透露如何利用新學來的知識,來創造觀眾能夠接受的藝術作品,是他面對的一大挑戰。

導演:”每個電影有它自己的命,也不能強求。可是你要盡人事聽天命,結果做出來什麼樣子,是你這電影本身的命, 看它會做成什麼樣子。跟你原先想像的都不太一樣,也是很有意思的事情。”

電影畫面由Twentieth Century Fox 提供。

(Copyright 2012 KTSF. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.) 版權所有,不得轉載。

發表你的看法

Connect with Facebook

*