Winter Fancy Food Show opens in San Francisco

(KTSF by Jessie Liang)

San Francisco, CA – Italian Chef Fabio Ugoletti from ALMA, the International Cooking School from Colorno (Parma), is introducing the traditional Italian food such as Bologna, Salami, and Speck Alto Adige.

Ugoletti says the Mortadella Bologna is pairing with foam of pear and chopped pistachio nuts. The reason is “because when you eat Mortadella Bologna, you will feel the present of the fat at the end. So the freshness of the fruit, especially the pear cleans your mouth,” Ugoletti said.

Winter Fancy Food Show in San Francisco (KTSF)

The show takes place January 19 -21, 2014, at Moscone Center. There are 1,300 exhibitors from across the U.S. and 35 countries and regions.

According to Specialty Food Association, the pavilion, called “New Brands on the Shelf”, presents dozens of innovative specialty foods and beverages from 30 new companies that are participating at a Fancy Food Show for the first time.

Bridget McQueen, the founder of Polska Foods, says when she visited her family in Porland, she tried the Pierogi and loved it so much. McQueen decided to make Pierogi by herself. She started to look for fresh ingredients locally and produce her own pierogi about two years ago.

“A lot of people said you can’t take food that you make in the kitchen and then mass produce it. It doesn’t work. We’re trying to prove them wrong and say we can do it,” McQueen said.

Why does her pierogi taste so good and natural? McQueen says, “If you look on our ingredient list, it’s very clean and every ingredient that you can find in your house. That’s it.”

Ken Seiter, Chief Marketing Director from Specialty Food Association, states one of the purpose of the show is to provide an opportunity for exhibitors to tell their own story of producing new specialty foods. “We’re branded Specialty Food, Craft, Care and Joy. We have Craft, Care and Joy because our memebers are really producing these product with care, and it’s special,” Seiter said.

Fancy Food show is twice a year, Summer and Winter. The Winter Fancy Food Show in San Francisco will end tomorrow, January 21.

(Copyright 2014 KTSF. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

Share This

Leave a Reply

Connect with Facebook

*

舊金山「冬季花樣美食展」30種新品牌首次參展

【KTSF 梁秋玉報導】

舊金山正在舉行「冬季花樣美食展」,吸引全球35個國家的食品製造商參展。

來自意大利的廚師 Fabio Ugoletti 正在展示各式各樣用意大利火腿製做的簡單美食。”*加了梨做成的泡沫汁 和切碎的開心果。”

用煮熟的梨和牛奶製成這個白色泡沫醬汁,配上這款博洛尼亞火腿,有其特別的功效。Ugoletti 說,”當你吃它(火腿 )時,你會感覺有點肥膩,所以來自水果的新鮮感, 特別是梨會解除油膩感。”

Winter Fancy Food Show in San Francisco (KTSF)

此次舊金山冬季花樣美食展,吸引超過來自北美、歐洲、南美及亞州等35個不同國家,1,300個食品商家參展。

主辦機構表示,這次有30家新品牌首次參加花樣美食展,而在他們產品的背後,都有一個不尋常的研發故事。

來自聖荷西的食品商家,正在展示自己研發的波蘭美食。創辦人Bridget McQueen 表示,自己去波蘭探親後,就愛上這道美食。回來就在本地尋找新鮮食材,自己動手做並跟大家分享。

McQueen 說,”許多人說你在廚房做的食物,不可能大批量生產,不會成功的,我們就是要證明他們是錯的,我們能做到。”

而她讓食品好吃的秘訣是甚麼呢?McQueen 說,”如果你看我們的成份表,非常簡單,每一樣都可以在你的廚房找到,就這樣。”

主辦單位特殊美食協會首席市場總監 Ken Seiter 表示,活動的目的之一,也是為食品商提供一個平台 ,讓大家了解每樣食品的特色,”我們稱為特殊美食,展現手藝、心意和樂趣。展現這些是因為我們的展商非常用心來製作這些食品,非常特別。”

花樣美食展每年舉辦兩次,分別在夏季和冬季。為期三天的舊金山展會將於明天結束。

(Copyright 2014 KTSF. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.) 版權所有,不得轉載

分享:

發表你的看法

Connect with Facebook

*