Recycling electronics

 

(KTSF by Jessie Liang)

Burlingame, CA – James Kao immigrated to the United States from Taiwan in the 1970s. Kao worked with Oracle, HP and other high-tech companies for about 20 years. Once he watched a TV program and learned that 80% of electronic wastes around the world were sent to developing countries. He then decided to start his e-waste recycling business in 2003.

Kao says, “For example, when you go to a school parking lot, or AT&T park to drop-off your obsolete computer, your stuff may get recycled but you don’t know where your computer would finally wind up.”

(KTSF)

According to Kao, there were over 450 million units of obsolete electronics stockpiled in the U.S.. By 2008, it’s estimated that the U.S. alone will have generated 1.5 billion units of unused electronics. When those potential e-wastes are dumped in developing countries, it could create many environmental and health problems. “Because the developing countries don’t have proper laws to protect the environment and people, and their citizens also lack awareness of saving the environment. So when you decompose a computer or a TV,  it would release some toxic chemicals that would harm the environment and their workers,” said Kao.

Kao says that he will make sure that those electronic wastes are disposed in California because California has tougher regulations on e-waste recycling. Besides, he also uses a system called “GreenCitizen Total Accountability Management System” to track recycled electronic products’ brand name, model number, series number, and year-made level. “Hope we can build up an environmental stewardship with manufacturers by providing those data and encourage them to recycle their products as well,” said Kao.

Kao also donates his part of his profits that are generated by e-waste recycling to schools and education. In addition, his four recycling centers in the Bay Area now also offer free recycling for large household appliances. “Hope my customers could learn more why recycling electronics wastes is so important and take their responsibility to save the environment,” said Kao.

For their e-waste drop-off centers in the Bay Area, please visit www.greencitizen.com.

(Copyright 2011 KTSF.  All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

Share This

Leave a Reply

Connect with Facebook

*

電子垃圾回收

 

【KTSF 梁秋玉報導】

消費電子產品日新月異,這也因此製造很多電子垃圾。而這些電子產品一般都含有有毒化學成分,如鉛、水銀等。如果處理不當,會影響環境和健康。

台灣移民高偉鈞1970年代移民來美,曾在Oracle和惠普等高科技公司工作20年。有一次高偉鈞在電視上得知,全球八成的電子垃圾都被丟棄到發展中國家,於是在2003年,決定投身電子產品回收工作。高偉鈞說,”你可能是到一個學校的停車場或AT&T球場,這些有回收活動的地方。你到那邊,就可以卸下你的電腦,但是你不知道那個電腦的去向到底在哪裡。”

2008年的資料顯示,僅在美國估計就有超過四億五千萬件電子垃圾,還有約15億未曾使用的電子產品。當這些都變成電子垃圾,去到第三世界國家,會製造很多環保問題。高偉鈞說,”因為第三世界國家,第一法律不健全,人民對環保的意識不是很高,所以在這種情形下,同樣是一個電腦或一個電視,當你在一個沒有保護員工和環境的情況下,你把它分解的話,很多這些有毒的物質,就有可能傷到員工或是土地。”

(KTSF)

高偉鈞表示,他會確保電子垃圾都在加州的公司進行處理,因為加州對電子垃圾回收有較嚴格的法規。另外,他還提供一套完整的回收責任管理方法,會有專人對回收的產品進行檢查和分類,查看是否有繼續使用的價值,按照品牌、型號、生產年份等貼上標籤。”主要是我們希望把這些文件和資料,提供給製造商並且合作,讓它也能夠加入環保的行列。”

高偉鈞還將回收的部份收益或者產品捐給學校,支持教育。此外,他在舊金山、Burlingame、Palo Alto 以及Berkeley的四個回收廠,現在也免費回收家電產品。”任何顧客進來,我們都希望他能夠再走出去以後,比他走進來更了解這方面的問題,所以他才可以盡他的一份力量去做對的事情。”

聖誕新年就快到了,大家如果要清理家中的舊電子或者家電產品,可以送去GreenCitizen在灣區四個回收點免費進行回收,如果一次回收五件電子垃圾,還可以參加iPad 2抽獎活動,截止日期到1月31號,詳情可以上網查詢www.greencitizen.com.

(Copyright 2011 KTSF. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)
版權所有,不得轉載

分享:

發表你的看法

Connect with Facebook

*