Cinequest Film Festival kicks off Feb 28

Sina WeiboPrintShare

(File)

(KTSF by Sean Au)

The 22nd Cinequest Film Festival in San Jose will showcase 157 films  beginning Feb 28

In 1988, Aung San Suu Kyi returned from Oxford in Great Britain to Myanmar (Burma) to see her sick mother, but  became entangled in the people’s strive for democracy. Despite leading the National League for Democracy to a resounding victory in the polls, the military government did not hand over power to the people. Aung San Suu Kyi was placed under house arrest for the next fifteen years. Michelle Yeoh plays Aung San Suu Kyi under the direction of French director Luc Besson. This Franco-British co-production, THE LADY, will kick off this year’s film festival.

Jiang Wen’s LET THE BULLETS FLY has been adapted from a Chinese novel. The bandit played by Jiang Wen kidnaps the governor Ge You, and fights over territorial control with local mobster played by Chow Yun Fat. This comedy is filmed with the aesthetics of a western.

Cinequest collaborates with Beijing’s RDFZ, China’s leading high school to produce PAST SUMMER. Directed by two Chinese students, the film tells the story of two girls in the city.

Siok Tan’s TWITTAMENTARY from Singapore, is billed as a cross country road trip with tweeting.

Cinequest Film Festival will be held from February 28 to March 11.

Website: cinequest.org

Comments

  1. Nathan Louie says:

    A great coverage by Sean Au and Channel 26 for Cinequest in San Jose! Thanks! Come to Cinequest in San Jose for some great films from all over the world! We are so lucky to have people care about life and willing to share their passion through film at a great film festival in downtown San Jose… Silicon Valley!

Speak Your Mind

Connect with Facebook

*

聖荷西電影節月底開幕

(File)

【KTSF 歐志洲報導】

第22屆聖荷西的Cinequest電影節,將從本月28日開始,展出157部最新電影作品。

1988年,人在英國牛津的昂山素姬,因為母親病危而回到故鄉緬甸,卻被捲入民主運動中。她所領導的全國民主聯盟雖然勝選,但軍政府不但沒有轉讓政權,還軟禁了昂山素姬15年。由楊紫瓊飾演昂山素姬,導演是法國著名的Luc Besson。這部英法合資的大製作《The Lady》,將為電影節打頭陣。

姜文導演的《讓子彈飛》,改編自作家馬識途的《夜譚十記》,講述姜文主演的土匪老大劫走鎮長葛優,和惡霸周潤發爭地盤的動作喜劇,採用西方牛仔片的拍攝手法。

電影節主辦單位和北京人大附中合作拍攝的《昔夏》,由兩名學生導演,講述兩個來自不同背景的北京女生,生命交錯的故事。

而新加坡導演陳惜惜的《Twittamentary》,則探討Twitter如何滲入人們的日常生活中。

Cinequest電影節發言人雷國棟:”我們希望幫助中國人和美國人,來了解我們的問題,我們的故事,我們的心情。”

為期兩個星期的Cinequest電影節,門票已經開始發售。觀眾可以瀏覽網站cinequest.org

(Copyright 2012 KTSF. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)
版權所有,不得轉載。

分享:

Comments

  1. Nathan Louie says:

    A great coverage by Sean Au and Channel 26 for Cinequest in San Jose! Thanks! Come to Cinequest in San Jose for some great films from all over the world! We are so lucky to have people care about life and willing to share their passion through film at a great film festival in downtown San Jose… Silicon Valley!

發表你的看法

Connect with Facebook

*