Zhang Yimou on THE FLOWERS OF WAR

Sina WeiboPrintShare

(KTSF)

(KTSF by Sean Au)

THE FLOWERS OF WAR, a movie about how a group of prostitutes hide with a group of young female students in a cathedral during the Nanjing Massacre. But, they sacrifice their own lives to protect the students from the Japanese aggressors during the Second World War.

In an exclusive interview with KTSF, Zhang Yimou says the reason he chose to adapt Yan Geling’s novel among the countless materials depicting the Nanjing Massacre is because the story is told from the point of view of a young girl.

Zhang says, “From the eyes of a young girl, she remembers the beautiful moments under cruel circumstances. This gives the director space to create a form of melancholic beauty.”

Zhang’s team went to all of China’s major cities to search for a new young actress to play the role of Yu Mo and finally decided on Ni Ni, a new graduate in mass media studies. Ni Ni has since spent two years to prepare for the role through lessons in English, movement, body language and speech training. Ni Ni says she has received lots of encouragement from everybody during production.

“Director Zhang has trusted me with a lot. When I could not express what he wanted, he was very patient and explained the scene to me many times over. He did this, not through the walkie-talkies, but personally came to me with a smile and spoke to me, telling me what he needed from me. This was very heart-warming.”

Zhang commends Ni for working hard to give her best performance. Zhang is also very satisfied working with Hollywood’s A-lister Christian Bale.

Zhang says, “Bale was prepared for all the details in a scene, and he gave me many options on how to play a scene. He even asked me how else I wanted him to play a scene. From a director’s point of view, this is very satisfying!”

With a budget of about $100 million, THE FLOWERS OF WAR, has been selected to represent China in competition for Best Foreign Film at the Oscars. Zhang contends that he does not have control over how well the film will perform at the awards. “What matters more is if the movie is a good one. The audience will not forget a good movie. He or she will be moved and will remember this movie. This, I think, is the highest honor,” adds Zhang.

THE FLOWERS OF WAR opens in Bay Area theatres on December 23.

(Copyright 2011 KTSF.  All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

Speak Your Mind

Connect with Facebook

*

張藝謀談最新作品《金陵十三釵》

Sina WeiboPrintShare

(KTSF)

【KTSF 歐志洲報導】

代表中國角逐奧斯卡金像獎最佳外語片的《金陵十三釵》,本週在中國開映。記者歐志洲和導演張藝謀做了獨家專訪。

《金陵十三釵》講述南京秦淮河的一群妓女,在戰亂中和一群少女逃避日軍殺害,同躲在一所教堂內,受到一名美國神父保護,但最後妓女捨己救人的故事。

張藝謀選擇改編嚴歌苓的小說《金陵十三釵》,主要是因為電影,處理南京大屠殺的角度,和一般類似題材不同。

張藝謀:”恰巧通過小女孩的眼睛去看,她記住了殘酷環境中的瞬間,那些美麗的瞬間,那種記憶的瞬間,可能帶給導演一個創作的空間,使這電影呈現某種悽美。”

在選角方面,張藝謀跑遍中國主要大城市,後來集中在南京,最後選擇了中國傳媒大學南廣學院畢業,卻沒有演過戲的倪妮,來飾演電影的靈魂人物名妓玉墨。而倪妮也花了兩年時間,在英語、形體、肢體語言和談吐方面接受培訓,拍攝過程中也獲得劇組人員的鼓勵。

倪妮:”首先導演對我就特別的信任,當我在需要表現一些東西,我表現不出來,導演非常有耐心,而且一遍一遍和我說戲,而且他還不是通過對講機。他就是親自走到我面前,滿臉笑容的告訴我。我需要你有什麼樣的一個狀態,就感覺整個給人特別親切。”

張藝謀表示倪妮刻苦努力,讚賞她的表現,而對首次和好萊塢一線演員Christian Bale合作,也非常滿意。

張藝謀:”他對這個鏡頭的人物的小細節都做好準備,然後在表演上都給您很多方案。經常就是他還問我,你還想要什麼樣的,那這樣你做導演就很過癮嘛。”

而耗資一億美元拍攝的《金陵十三釵》,被選為代表中國角逐奧斯卡,張藝謀認為謀事在人、成事在天。

張藝謀:”其實一個好電影更重要。好電影在人的心裡,大家看過之後不會忘記。他會受到震撼。他會在心裡記住這個作品。我認為這樣的榮譽其實是最高的。”

《金陵十三釵》將在12月23日在灣區上映。

(Copyright 2011 KTSF. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)
版權所有,不得轉載。

發表你的看法

Connect with Facebook

*