What is domestic violence?

Sina WeiboPrintShare

(KTSF by Sean Au)

San Francisco Sheriff Ross Mirkarim is facing domestic violence allegations.  The case raises public concern about the definition of domestic violence.

The District Attorney’s Office has seen 771 cases of domestic violence in 2011. D.A. George Gascon says it is not uncommon for victims of domestic violence to recant their claims. His office will then have to evaluate the evidence on hand to decide if they should proceed with charging the accused.

(AP File)

George Gascon explains, “Often, the victims are afraid there is a dependent relationship. The offender is often the financial support for the home. There is often love. People are often in love with each other.”

Domestic violence is defined as the perpetrator using physical force, sexual or psychological abuses against the victim, or using means like economic punishment, degradation, keeping in place or threats to cause the obedience of the victim. Domestic violence victims are not restricted to women. Men, children or the elderly can also be victims of this crime.

Donaldina Cameron House in Chinatown handled about 150 cases of domestic violence last year. Director Social Services Ministry Yulanda Kwong says domestic violence is usually a trend that takes place more than once over time.

“Some cases which are serious when we see very obviously abuse cases, we will see them and explain to them the different resources available to them, and help them to make a plan that is safe for them,” says Kwong.

Kwong adds that if the victims’ friends or family members cannot help them find a temporary place to stay, community organizations like Donaldina Cameron House can help find a shelter. If victims are physically hurt, they should go to see a doctor or nurse to get an injury record. If there are children in the family, they should be taught to call the police should they be abducted. Community organizations can also help victims to obtain a restraining order keeping the perpetrator a hundred yards away.

Some immigrants who are afraid to lose their status in the country should know that the federal law, Violence Against Woman Act, can help victims of domestic violence obtain permanent residency.

(Copyright 2012 KTSF. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

Leave a Reply

Connect with Facebook

*

如何尋求家庭暴力方面的協助?

Sina WeiboPrintShare

【KTSF 歐志洲報導】

舊金山 (三藩市)縣警局長Ross Mirkarimi最近捲入家庭暴力事件,引起公眾關注什麼是家庭暴力和如何預防家庭暴力。

(AP File)

舊金山地檢處去年針對771起家庭暴力事件進行起訴。地檢官George Gascon透露,不少家庭暴力的受害者,在報案後可能撤回對伴侶的投訴。地檢處必須按照手頭上是否有足夠有利證據,以決定是否起訴嫌犯 。

舊金山地檢官George Gascon:”受害者經常害怕,為同嫌犯有依賴的關係,而施暴者是家中財政支柱,往往兩人也相愛。”

家庭暴力的定義是:當某人強行控制伴侶利用體力、性或精神,施加虐待。或是以經濟封鎖、辱罵、禁錮、恐嚇等行式,使伴侶屈服。而這也不局限在女性伴侶身上。男性伴侶、兒童、年長人士,都可能是家暴受害者。

舊金山華埠的金美倫堂,去年處理約150起家暴事件。社會服務處主任鄺慧賢表示,家庭暴力經常不是只發生一次。

金美倫堂社會服務處主任鄺慧賢:”一些比較嚴重,很明顯的家庭暴力的受害者,我們會約他們見面,也都告訴他們不同的資源,幫助他們設計一個安全的計畫。”

鄺慧賢補充,如果朋友或家人不能協助受害人找另外一個可以暫住的地方,社區機構可以幫忙找庇護所。如果受傷,必須到醫院請醫生或護士替受害人作受傷記錄。也必須教導子女,如果遭到強行帶走,必須報警。社區機構也可以協助申請禁制令,限制施暴者保持在一百碼之外的距離。

一些移民如果擔心,身分必須靠施暴者,則不必擔憂。聯邦的保護婦女免受暴力法律,能夠協助受害人取得合法的移民身分。

(Copyright 2012 KTSF. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)
版權所有,不得轉載。

發表你的看法

Connect with Facebook

*