Insomnia help

(AP)

(KTSF by Susannah Lee)

Statistics by the National Institute of Health shows that, 30-40% of American adults experience some kind of insomnia within any given year. Of those with the condition about 10-15% of adults are diagnosed as chronic.

Dietician Yvonne Liang, at the Chinese Community Health Resource Center, says one should seek medical advise if insomnia lasts for over one month. It can cause lack of energy, and even hinders one from work and social activities.

While insomnia is itself a symptom, Liang cautions that it could indicate some kind of health problem including diabetes.  It could also indicate prostate problems in males if insomnia is related to frequent urge to urinate at night.

Stress, worrying and depression are other causes of insomnia. Moreover, irregular work-sleep schedules, taking  medications, consumption of caffeinated drinks, as well as body pain all contribute to bad sleep quality, even insomnia.

(Copyright 2011 KTSF. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

Share This

Leave a Reply

Connect with Facebook

*

失眠或身體毛病訊號

Sina WeiboPrintShare

(AP)

【KTSF李穎珊報導】

每天經過一整天活動和工作,有充足和高質素睡眠相當重要;不少成年人面對失眠問題。「活得更健康」專題大家講講。

失眠是一個頗普遍現像;根據國家衛生研究所National Institute of Health統計,美國有30%至40%成年人,在一年間試過失眠,超過10%人屬嚴重失眠。

一般來說,若失眠情況持續一個月以上,感到精神不振,甚至影響到日常生活、工作和社交活動,便應見家庭醫生了解原因,並安排適當的治理,因為失眠本身只是一個癥狀,可能是身體出毛病的訊號。

註冊營養師梁丘伊文舉例,假如晚上要上洗手間,醫生要研究是否患糖尿病,男士的話有可能與前列腺發大有關;若情況嚴重,家庭醫生可轉介專科或睡眠診所詳細觀察。

精神壓力、焦慮或抑鬱,也是造成失眠症的原因。另外,作息不定時、服用藥物、喝茶或咖啡等刺激性飲料,以及身體疼痛等,也會影響睡眠質素,甚至造成失眠。

三藩巿華埠華人社區健康資源中心,將於十二月二十日星期二,舉行失眠症的粵語講座,民眾可致電(415)677-2457查詢及報名。有關失眠及其他健康資訊,也可溜覽資源中心網頁:www.cchrchealth.org

(Copyright 2011 KTSF. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)
版權所有,不得轉載。

發表你的看法

Connect with Facebook

*